Jackson County Votes On Alcoholic Beverages

JACKSON COUNTY VOTERS ELECT TO PERMIT

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES CONTAINING MORE THAN 6.243% ABV

TO BE SOLD BY THE DRINK ON THE LICENSED PREMISES

Sales Options Approved by Voters Will Expand Choices of License Types in Jackson County

On November 14, 2017, Jackson County held a local option election pursuant to Chapter 567, Florida Statutes, in which a majority of registered voters approved of permitting alcoholic beverages containing more than 6.243 percent of alcohol by volume to be sold by the drink on the licensed premises of retail vendors. Previously, retail vendor premises located within Jackson County and holding a license issued by the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco were restricted to sales by the package in sealed containers for consumption off the premises where sold, or if offered by the drink for consumption on the premises, restricted to sales of alcoholic beverages containing no more than 6.243 percent of alcohol by volume.

Pursuant to section 567.12, F.S., any resident of Jackson County shall have the right to test the legality and regularity of the election by suit in equity in the circuit court of the county. Florida law requires such suit to test the validity of the local option election to be filed within 90 days after the recording of the declaration of the result of the election in the minutes of the board of county commissioners. Current licensees and license applicants will be eligible for the additional sales options approved by Jackson County voters upon expiration of the 90-day period if no challenge is filed related to the validity of the election.

HOW DOES THIS IMPACT MY LICENSE OPTIONS IN JACKSON COUNTY?

The holder of a 1APS, 1COP. 2APS, or 2COP license will be authorized to sell malt or vinous beverages containing more than 6.243 percent of alcohol by volume so long as the products are permitted to be sold in Florida within the restrictions of the license type currently held. The holder of a series 3BPS quota alcoholic beverage license, which is restricted to sales by the package only, may apply to change the license to a 6COP license series to permit the sale of any alcoholic beverages by the drink for consumption on the premises. Applicants and current licensees also may consider one of several special license types in the 6COP series which are authorized for the sale of intoxicating liquors by the drink for consumption on the premises, such as a special food service establishment license (6COP-SFS). Click here to view a list of the types of licenses eligible for the sale of alcoholic beverages by the drink for consumption on the licensed premises. Note that several specialty license types featured on the list may require special qualifications which must be met prior to the issuance of the license.

HOW CAN I APPLY FOR A LICENSE OR FOR A CHANGE TO A LICENSE SERIES?

The application and instructions to apply for an alcoholic beverage license or a change in license series are available through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s Application Center. Completed applications may be submitted to any district office of the Division – for office locations, click here.

 


 

EMERGENCY ORDER OF THE SECRETARY SUSPENDS TIME REQUIREMENTS ON APPLICATIONS FOR PERMITS AND LICENSES

Upcoming ABT License Deadlines Extended
Through October 23, 2017 By Effect of Emergency Order

On September 21, 2017, the Secretary of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation executed an Emergency Order to suspend all time requirements, notice requirements, and deadlines for final action on applications for permits and licenses for a period of thirty days extending through October 23, 2017. The upcoming license deadlines highlighted below have been extended by effect of this order.

License Renewal Deadline Extended Through October 23, 2017
All licenses subject to renewal by October 1 may timely renew without penalty on or before October 23, 2017. Penalties for the delinquent renewal of a license will be assessed on renewals filed on or after October 24, 2017. Licenses scheduled for this renewal cycle include:

• Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers
• Alcoholic Beverage Common Carriers
• Alcoholic Beverage Distributors and Alcoholic Beverage Retail Vendors licensed in the following counties:

Baker, Bay, Bradford, Calhoun, Citrus, Clay, Dixie, Duval, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Hillsborough, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Okaloosa, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.

 


 

 

UPDATED ANNUAL FEES FOR ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSES
WILL BE EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2017

Fees In Monroe County To Increase Based On Increase In County Population

The Florida Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco Annual License Fees list, which takes effect October 1, 2017, is available here. The updated fee list includes changes in license fees effectuated by law from bills enacted during the 2017 legislative session and changes in license fees attributable to increases in county population.

Monroe County is the only county with a license fee increase based on population changes in the county. According to the University of Florida’s Bureau of Economic and Business Research, 2016 Florida Estimates of Population, the population for Monroe County has increased to 76,047. Due to the increase in population, the annual license fees for alcoholic beverage licenses in Monroe County will shift to an increased fee tier applicable to counties with a population over 75,000. The fee increase will take effect October 1, 2017. Accordingly, the license series for spirituous alcoholic beverage licenses in Monroe County also will change from 6COP to 5COP for consumption on premises licenses and from 3BPS to 3APS for package sales only licenses.

 


 

 

2017 LEGISLATION UPDATE

For a brief overview of the bills from the 2017 regular legislative session that pertain to the jurisdiction of the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco in the regulation of alcoholic beverages and tobacco products in Florida, please visit the 2017 Legislation page, click here.


RECENT UPDATES OF REGULATORY REFERENCES

The Division has recently updated summary references intended for information only related to the types of licenses and permits issued by the Division and the general laws and special acts applicable to certain special licenses for hotels, motels, condominiums, and food service establishments. To access the most recently updated reference chart of types of licenses and permits, click here. To access the most recently updated reference chart for general laws and special acts for special licenses, click here.


 

SUDS: Stop Underage Drinking and Sales

To report any violations of state laws pertaining to alcohol or tobacco sales, please call toll free 1.866.540.SUDS (7837).

 

Tax Stamp Violation Reporting (Call 1-866-540-PUFS)

Help stop the sale/possession of illegal cigarettes in Florida. For more information on the PUFS program click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email